Vedic History
History of Arya Samaj in Australia - Vedic Pratinidhi Sabha and Arya Samaj of Australia 

Om sangachchhadhwam samvadadhwam samvomanansi janatam.

Deva bhagam yatha purve sanjanana upaste.

                                                                        Rigveda 10/191/2

O Citizens! Live in harmony and concord. Be organised and co-operative. Speak with one voice and make your resolutions with one mind. As your ancient saints and seers, leaders and preceptors have performed their duties righteously, similarly, may you not falter in executing your duties.

Vedic Pratinidhi Sabha and Arya Samaj of Australia Incorporated was founded in March 1995 at 3 Samuel Street, Lidcombe, New South Wales, Australia  by a group of enthusiastic followers of Swami Dayanand Saraswati’s principles and with a view to keep the Samaj out of local politics. 

Among the pioneers were Pt S. N. Hari Prasad Arya Ratna, Prem Chand, Mehar Chand, Pt Awindra Prasad, Anjnish Prasad, Prem Parmanand, Shakuntala Parmanand, Purohita Prabha Sharma, Vijay Narayan, Uma Narayan, Suneel Roy and Sashi Roy. 

The following persons served as president of the VPSASA since its establishment:-

Pt S. N Hari Prasad Arya Ratna  was the first President of the Samaj from 1995 to 1999.

Mr Prem Chand from 1999 to 2002

Mr Chandan Arun from 2002 to 2004

Mrs Mehar Chand first lady President from 2004 to 2006

Mr Devebdra Bisram from 2006 to 2008

Pt Awindra Prasad from 2008 to 2010

Mr Subhash Rughani from 2010 to 2012

The current President is Mrs Arun Narayan. 

The office bearers for 2012 – 2013 are:-

President:  Mrs Arun Narayan

Vice Presidents:  Mr Subhash Rughani and Mr Devendra Bisram 

Secretary:  Mrs Babita Sharma

Assistant Secretary: Mr Kamal Chandra

Treasurer:  Mrs Anu Lata Chandra

Assistant Treasurer:  Mr Prem Parmanand

Librarian: Mrs Anjnish Prasad

Public Officer:  Mr Ashok Shalendra Kumar

Auditor:  Mr Rajneel Kumar

Trustees: Mrs Narayan Singh Niranjan, Mr Rajendra Kumar, Mr Brij Pal Singh

Patron:  Mr Narayan Singh Niranjan, Arya Ratna 

Purohit/Purohita: Pundit Awindra, Arya Ratan, Pundita Prabha Sharma

Vedic Pratinidhi Sabha and Arya Samaj of Australia Incorporated with its limited resources is doing a remarkable job in promoting the teachings of Swami Dayanand Saraswati. Very educational and thought provoking parvachans delivered by both children and adults at satsangs have been very enlightening and continue to be a source of learning and spiritual fulfilment for the congregation.

Late Arya Ratna, Pt S N Hari Prasad’s regular Veda prachars and Veda Gyan are still played on Radio Navtarang and Radio Madhurima.

Pundita Prabha Sharma  continues the tradition of Pundit Ji by presenting programs and Parvachans on Radio Navtarang.

Pt Awindra Prasad continues to write Veda Gyan articles in the Navtarang Magazine.

 The VPSASA observes all Hindu festivals; however the Arya Samaj Sthapna Divas and Deepavali are celebrated on a grand scale and have always been very successful. On such celebrations, a highly educated prominent person is invited to be the chief guest.

 The VPSASA has also kept the tradition to help those in need in time of disaster.